See saw

See-saw

You decide / I wonder

You stand quiet / I fear

You withdraw / I press further

You spill your guts / I lick my wounds

You stand your ground / I stare into the distance

You explain / I explain

You demand / I concede

We relent

Truce

We draw imaginary lines –  Boundaries defined

Let the games begin

You work

I work

You wait

I wait

You insist

I expect

We ignore things

But they don’t go away

They linger and grow stronger

No longer us

There’s you – There’s me

We are blind

But we don’t know this

Hands intent on molding – reshaping to our satisfaction

Loving the idea of what was or could be

Past or future – but no present

And we die a little every day

Surrounded by a love that doesn’t

Leave a Reply

