Metamorphosis

metamorphosis
Image by madamepsychosis via Flickr

You are quiet because there is nothing left to say

I can’t reinvent myself for you

Or rather I could – but you would not like what you see

For I fear my gifts have been reduced to the darkest part of me

The one I don’t want to acknowledge, whose thoughts attack me when I least expect them

I am afraid of myself

Afraid of my desires

Afraid of my wilfulness and my ability to disconnect from the ones I love

I am afraid of letting go

I don’t trust

I don’t trust my intelligence

I don’t trust my wits or capabilities

I don’t trust the woman within me

But I know that you won’t love her

2 thoughts on “Metamorphosis

  1. i lived most of my life in fear… until someone who loves all of me ~ good, bad and horrible ~ looked at me with love in his eyes. hang onto hope.

    1. I really appreciate you took the time to read my piece and comment on it. I can’t thank you enough.

      I think in love, the worst part is when you are incapable of loving all of yourself. It doesn’t matter if someone else accepts you, it only matters that you do.

Leave a Reply

