Hello, my name is

Hello, my name is anonymous
Image by quinn.anya via Flickr

Before we are born, our parents think long and hard about the name they will give us.  They already know what our last name will be, and so they place an infinite amount of hopes and dreams on the name that will be ours, distinct from our siblings and relatives.  They look up name meanings, and try several until finally choosing something that is both sweet and revealing of their aspirations.

But they are not the only ones choosing names for us. The moment we are born, society arbitrarily assigns a tag to us as well.  This tag eventually defines us even more than our name will.  Gender, race, and nationality are an introduction to the world that awaits.  As we grow older, the list will expand to include religious affiliation, social status, sexual orientation and political inclination to name a few. 

These labels, serve as an invisible roadmap that will help to decide our fate in this world.  Granted, being born on the north-western hemisphere of the globe alleviates most of these obstacles, causing otherwise smart people to deny their existence.  But being born a female, of the wrong tribe or caste, in another part of the world, is tantamount to a life of ignorance, hard labor, and social inferiority.   And these are the lucky ones.  Others, are slaves, used, abused and discarded when their masters grow weary of them.

I am not royalty, nor rich by any stretch of the imagination, but I am privileged.  I have studied, and read.  I am able to choose my friends, and more importantly my husband.  I have the right to vote.  I decide were I work and live, if I want to have children and even who I pray to.

But even in this upwardly mobile society, gays and lesbians face limitations.  Minorities are equal but not the “same”.  And this limits their choices in life.  Because they are the wrong color, wrong sexuality, wrong religion, In some areas of the United States of America, not being blond and blue-eyed is still “wrong”.  

I want the next generation to live in a better world than this.  I want them to know that we will love them regardless of gender, race, sexual orientation, religious affiliation, social status, or political inclinations.  Because those are just antiquated labels and who are we to limit who they are and what they can achieve.

Leave a Reply

